My Week With @RealScientists

Used with permission, copyright Real Scientists.

Time flies when you’re having fun, and last week was a lot of fun.

First and foremost, I’d like to thank the awesome folks at @RealScientists for giving me the opportunity to curate their Twitter account last week (Jan 15-Jan 21). It was an amazing experience that opened me up to so many other researchers, academics, and science-lovers from around the world.

Second, and just as important, I wanted to once again thank all the followers who took the time to chat with me, ask questions, or offer support or commentary about the various projects that I discussed. Thanks especially for being open to a Statistician/Computer Scientist rambling on about survey gamification, eNuk, Farm To Fork, community-engaged scholarship, ICON, and mentoring, to name a few. Thanks also for the more light-hearted but just as interesting and important discussion of science cakes, which saw people from around the world posting photos of cakes that were decorated for the love of science (#SciCake).

However, of all the conversations that occurred, I think my favourite came when I asked the following:

What’s the thing about what you do that makes you think sometimes “Wow, I can’t believe I get to do this”?

The replies were incredibly inspiring and uplifting. If you haven’t had a chance to read them, you can check it out below (just click on the tweet).


  • Image used with permission. Copyright Real Scientists
Leave a Reply

