Leave For Change: The Warm Hearth Of Africa

The University of Guelph Leave For Change Team

Earlier this year I began the process of applying to the Leave For Change program, and just more than a month ago I found out that I was selected to take part.

The Leave for Change program provides faculty and staff the opportunity to travel to a developing country to volunteer with a local partner to support a project that is intended to build capacity and resilience within the community. In my case, that means offering my mathematics, statistics, and computer science skills.

My Leave For Change placement has me working in Malawi, a landlocked country known as the Warm Heart of Africa. The country is bordered by three countries. In the northeast quadrant is Tanzania, in the northwest quadrant is Zambia, and in the southern quadrants Mozambique. Lake Malawi makes up most of its eastern border.

While there, I’ll be spending my days working with the non-profit Agricultural Research and Extension Trust (ARET) which is located in the capital city of Lilongwe, almost right in the middle of the country.

To be honest, I’m extremely excited about the opportunity to travel to Malawi to take part in this program. I’ve never been to Africa, so this will be an amazing adventure. Beyond that, I’m excited not only by what I might be able to offer ARET, I’m excited for the chance to learn as much as I can from the people I’ll be working with. I’m excited to learn about another part of our world. And I’m excited to bring these experiences back with me to the classroom.

My Leave For Change placement takes place July 9th until August 7th. I can’t wait!

 

 

Leave a Reply

