I Love These Apps

MyScript Calculator: one of the many apps I’ve grown to love on my iPad

Just over a month ago I decided to finally splurge and buy myself an iPad. I’ve wanted one for ages but only recently decided that it was okay to treat myself. In fact, I argued – to myself – that it was a belated Christmas gift to me, from me.

Honestly, I have no idea why I took so long to buy one. I love this thing. It has changed the way I take notes in meetings, it has changed the way I grade papers, and it has changed the way I edit theses, projects, or articles for review. It has even changed the way I use a calculator.

Anyway, I thought it might be useful to share some of the apps/webpages that I’ve come across recently – apps that have become part of my daily routine – in the event that you find them useful as well. I’ll post more as I find them. Until then, feel free to recommend an app or two in the comments section below.


MyScript Calculator

This app is amazing, and it is more than a simple calculator. But don’t take my word for it – check out the video below. Oh, and it’s also available for the iPhone and for Android devices too. Oh, and did I mention that it’s free?


Web Equation

Along the same line as the MyScript Calculator, and brought to you by the same folks who brought you said calculator, is WebEquation. The gist of this particular website (click here to test it out) is that you can enter in an equation by simply writing on your tablet, magic happens, and the next thing you know it has been converted to LaTeX coding! As an example, I’ve written out a finite sum below. Note the translation from handwriting to LaTeX code in the bottom right corner. So cool.

Chicken scratch handwriting to LaTeX code. It must be magic.
Chicken scratch handwriting to LaTeX code. It must be magic.

GoodNotes

GoodNotes has become one of the apps that I use every day. The app allows you to create blank notebooks – with lined, blank, or graph style paper – which can be fill by writing on the iPad with a stylus or a finger. But that’s not where it really shines, in my opinion. The program allows you to open up any PDF file, add, rearrange or mark up any of the pages as you see fit. I can highlight text, add comments, suggest edits, add images, etc. Once I’m done marking up a PDF, I can export it. This is highly useful when I’m wanting to edit a student’s work – I simply open their PDF in GoodNotes, make any necessary mark ups, and return it to them edits intact. Best part – it’s free too.

Leave a Reply

