Fibon-Easter Bunnies

Fibonacci bunnies (from http://www.thinkgeek.com)

Yesterday was Easter – a day when many children woke up from dreams filled with chocolate, to Easter baskets filled with the same.

I woke up thinking about bunnies. I can only assume I saw an advertisement that stuck with me, as I don’t normally wake up thinking about much more than breakfast and wondering why I didn’t go to bed earlier.

I should clarify a bit. I didn’t wake up thinking of fuzzy little bunnies per se. I woke up thinking about Easter, which led to the thought of chocolate and chocolate bunnies, which naturally morphed to fuzzy bunnies, and finally to the Fibonacci sequence. For those unfamiliar, the Fibonacci sequence was described in 1202 by Leonardo de Pisa. According to Wikipedia:

Fibonacci considers the growth of an idealized (biologically unrealistic) rabbit population, assuming that: a newly born pair of rabbits, one male, one female, are put in a field; rabbits are able to mate at the age of one month so that at the end of its second month a female can produce another pair of rabbits; rabbits never die and a mating pair always produces one new pair (one male, one female) every month from the second month on. The puzzle that Fibonacci posed was: how many pairs will there be in one year?

The short answer: quite a few1.

To honour the Finon-Easter Bunnies that I woke up thinking about, I thought I would post the following three videos. They were made by Vi Hart, who calls herself a Mathemusician. Even if you aren’t entirely interested in the Fibonacci sequence, I highly recommend taking the time to watch these videos.



1 To be more precise, the 12th value of the Fibonacci sequence is 144.

One thought on “Fibon-Easter Bunnies

Leave a Reply

