Academic Procrastination

I probably shouldn’t be encouraging procrastination, but sometimes one just can’t wrap their brains around whatever it is they are supposed to be doing. It happens to all of us; at least, I would like to believe it does. I can say with 100% certainty that it is happening to me this very moment. My to do list has grown to a size that has me overwhelmed at the mere prospect of determining where to start – everything seems important. And that list doesn’t even include the set of 6 papers I’m trying to finish before the end of the semester.

For those of you that might find yourself stuck on a problem, or maybe not even sure where to start, I’d recommend the following websites/distractions: KenKen, or Sporcle. KenKen is similar in nature to Sudoku but with an added mathematical challenge. Sporcle offers many excellent trivia games – some of which might be used to study for an upcoming test. I wish I had Sporcle when I was studying chemistry early on in my university career. I’d also suggest that it might help those that are studying history or geography. Regardless, both websites are entertaining and if you aren’t careful, you might just learn something.

The games are relatively short – anywhere from 1 to 20 minutes in duration – the perfect amount of distraction in my books. Of course, the trick becomes not getting addicted and spending more time on the websites than necessary. Trust me when I say it’s easy to do. I’ve spent many an hour on both websites. But if you manage your time wisely, you’ll find that these short distractions might be just the cure to the procrastination or block that you are currently facing.

Keep in mind however, the excuses “Sporcle ate my homework”, “I couldn’t do the assignment because I was breaking my KenKen record”, or any other derivative of these are not acceptable reasons for failing to complete course related materials.

Anyway, having just finished a 9×9 KenKen puzzle, I think I’m ready to tackle one of my many to do list items.

Leave a Reply

