The 7th International GeoMED Conference

7th International GeoMED Conference

A few weeks ago, I attended the 7th International GeoMED Conference. The conference was fantastic, with about 70 people from around the world gathering to discuss spatial analysis, epidemiology, medicine, public health, geography and statistics. Being a smaller conference, the setting was far more intimate than at other conferences I’ve attended. This meant that I was able to chat with more people for a longer period of time and get to know some very amazing researchers from various walks of life. It also didn’t hurt that the conference was held at the Inn at Laurel Point in Victoria, British Columbia. In a word – beautiful.

The GeoMED Attendees

For those interested, I’ve posted my Prezi presentation below. Based on the feedback I feel that it was well received. The talk garnered several questions and a lot of interest especially for the manner in which I presented.

Anyway, I would just like to say again how thankful I am to have been invited to speak. It was definitely an honour to be able to present my work to so many well-respected researchers. Thank you again to Charmaine Dean for inviting me. Also, thank you to Farouk Nathou for helping to organize the event.



Leave a Reply

